INDIVIDUAL 3D SOFTWARE | +49 (0)3691 88 35 350 | CONTACT US TODAY

  • 2_sliders_2021_globeviewer1.jpg
  • 3_sliders_2021_globeviewer2.jpg
  • 7_sliders_2021_globeviewerMars3.jpg
  • 8_sliders_2021_globeviewerMars4.jpg
  • 91_sliders_2021_globeviewerMoon1.jpg
  • 92_sliders_2021_globeviewerMoon2.jpg

GlobeViewer Apps

The GlobeViewer apps provide high-resolution elevation data as an interactive 3D map model for anyone interested without any special knowledge of GIS applications. With a smartphone or a tablet you can explore the real surface of the earth, moon and Mars. It is not about a realistic representation of the visible surface, as e.g. Google Maps does with photos, but about the pure representation of the planetary surface based on the freely available elevation data.

GlobeViewer (Earth)

GlobeViewer

 

 

GlobeViewer Moon

GlobeViewer Moon

 

 

GlobeViewer Mars

GlobeViewer Mars

 

 

Apps are still in the works

All three apps are currently still in work, i.e. additional functions and maps will be submitted from time to time as soon as new data is available. Especially with Mars there is currently only global elevation data in 200 m per pixel resolution. Over the next few years, however, a 50 m per pixel map will gradually be created at the FU Berlin. As soon as there is a major update from there, the data will be entered in the app. The same applies to the HiRISE data from NASA. With the moon we have already achieved a resolution of 1 m per pixel, with the earth it is 15 m per pixel in the raw data - but in the app this is reduced to approx. 50 m per pixel in order to reduce the amount of data to be transmitted.

Advertising in the app

The three apps are available for you to download free of charge in the stores. Some users are annoyed by the fact that promotional videos are integrated into the app. The reason for this lies in the decision on the app structure that we had to make:

Option A - App combination (demo & Pro app): The app is divided into a paid pro version and a free but severely restricted demo version. With this model, customers cannot try out all the functions before buying and have to buy a "pig in a poke". In addition, there is only one purchase option. The only advantage: no advertising.

Option B - Advertising and In-App Purchases: Here everything is concentrated in one app. Users can test all functions before purchasing. However, promotional videos "disrupt" the process so that misuse of the free version becomes inconvenient and unattractive. In-app purchases have the advantage of being able to offer several purchase options at the same time.

We decided on the more flexible variant B . The biggest advantage here is the complete access to all functions before the purchase . In addition, we can not only divide the apps at full price, but also into smaller and cheaper products . But you can make a significantly better purchase decision than with option A - and that was the crucial point. Unfortunately, the disadvantage of this decision is the advertising in demo mode. So it's a compromise.

If you want to use the apps without advertising, you can activate a corresponding upgrade via the integrated shop. After the upgrade, there are no more advertisements in the activated areas. With your purchase in the app you support the further development of the apps. Thanks a lot for this!

 

 

Contact Us

Logo

RAB Softwareentwicklung
Dipl.-Ing. Ralf Armin Böttcher
Joseph-Kürschner-Str. 6
99817 Eisenach

Phone: +49 (0)3691 / 88 35 350

INDIVIDUELLE 3D SOFTWARE | +49 (0)3691 88 35 350 | KONTAKT

  • 2_sliders_2021_globeviewer1.jpg
  • 3_sliders_2021_globeviewer2.jpg
  • 7_sliders_2021_globeviewerMars3.jpg
  • 8_sliders_2021_globeviewerMars4.jpg
  • 91_sliders_2021_globeviewerMoon1.jpg
  • 92_sliders_2021_globeviewerMoon2.jpg

GlobeViewer Apps

Die GlobeViewer Apps stellen hochaufgelöste Höhendaten als interaktives 3D-Kartenmodell für jeden Interessierten ohne spezielle Kenntnisse von GIS-Anwendungen zur Verfügung. Mit einem Smartphone oder einem Tablet kann man so die reale Oberfläche von Erde, Mond und Mars erkunden. Es geht hier nicht um eine realistische Abbildung der sichtbaren Oberfläche, wie es z.B. Google Maps über Fotos macht, sondern um die reine Darstellung der Planeten-Oberfläche basierend auf den frei verfügbaren Höhendaten.

GlobeViewer (Erde)

GlobeViewer

 

 

GlobeViewer Moon

GlobeViewer Moon

 

 

GlobeViewer Mars

GlobeViewer Mars

 

 

Apps sind noch in Arbeit

Aktuell sind alle drei Apps noch in Arbeit, d.h. es werden von Zeit zu Zeit weitere Funktionen und auch Kartenmaterial nachgereicht, sobald neue Daten zur Verfügung stehen. Gerade beim Mars gibt es momentan nur globale Höhendaten in 200 m pro Pixel-Auflösung. In den nächsten Jahren wird aber nach und nach eine 50 m pro Pixel-Karte an der FU Berlin erstellt. Sobald es von dort ein größeres Update gibt, werden die Daten in der App eingepflegt. Ähnliches gilt für die HiRISE-Daten der NASA. Beim Mond haben wir bereits eine Auflösung von 1 m pro Pixel erreicht, bei der Erde liegt sie in den Rohdaten bei 15 m pro Pixel - in der App ist dies aber auf ca. 50 m pro Pixel reduziert um die zu übertragende Datenmenge zu verkleinern.

Werbung in der App

Die drei Apps stehen in den Stores kostenfrei für Sie zum Download bereit. Einige Nutzer stören sich daran, dass in der App Werbevideos integriert sind. Der Grund dafür liegt in der Entscheidung über die App-Struktur, die wir treffen mussten:

Option A - App-Kombination (Demo & Pro-App): Die App wird aufgeteilt in eine kostenpflichtige Pro- und eine kostenfreie, aber stark eingeschränkte Demo-Version. Bei diesem Modell können die Kunden nicht alle Funktionen vor dem Kauf ausprobieren und müssen "die Katze im Sack" kaufen. Außerdem gibt es nur eine Kaufoption. Einziger Vorteil: keine Werbung.

Option B - Werbung und in-App-Käufe: Hier konzentriert sich alles in einer App. Nutzer können vor dem Kauf alle Funktionen testen. Werbevideos "stören" allerdings den Ablauf, damit ein Missbrauch der kostenfreien Version unbequem und unattraktiv wird. Durch in-App-Käufe besteht der Vorteil, gleich mehrere Kaufoptionen anbieten zu können.

Wir haben uns für die flexiblere Variante B entschieden. Der größte Vorteil ist hier der komplette Zugang zu allen Funktionen vor dem Kauf. Außerdem können wir die Apps nicht nur zum Vollpreis, sondern auch in kleinere und günstigere Produkte aufteilen. Sie können aber eine deutlich bessere Kaufentscheidung treffen als in Variante A - und dies war der entscheidende Punkt. Der Nachteil dieser Entscheidung ist leider die Werbung im Demo-Modus. Es ist also ein Kompromiss.

Wenn Sie die Apps ohne Werbung nutzen wollen, können Sie über den integrierten Shop ein entsprechendes Upgrade freischalten. Nach dem Upgrade sind keine Werbungen mehr in den freigeschalteten Bereichen vorhanden. Mit Ihrem Einkauf in der App unterstützen Sie die Weiterentwicklung der Apps. Vielen Dank dafür!

 

 

Kontakt

Logo

RAB Softwareentwicklung
Dipl.-Ing. Ralf Armin Böttcher
Joseph-Kürschner-Str. 6
99817 Eisenach

Telefon: +49 (0)3691 / 88 35 350

Hauptmenü